

Announcements

Terms of blse ktythes://staging.bioone.org/terms-of-use

Source: The Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature, 79(1): 3-4

Published By: International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature

URL: https://doi.org/10.21805/bzn.v79.a003

Announcements

International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature c/o Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum, 2 Conservatory Drive, Singapore 117377, Republic of Singapore (iczn@nus.edu.sg)

http://dx.doi.org/10.21805/bzn.v79.a003

Daphne Fautin (1946-2021) - Cnidarian specialist and Commissioner

Daphne Fautin died on March 12, 2021. Her career as a marine biologist, as well as her many activities and personal interests, resulted in a large and diverse circle of colleagues and acquaintances. Since her death, remarks and tributes have been pouring in. However, there were also pre-mortem communications to her. She had an aggressive and incurable form of leukemia, and had been given six months to live. She made arrangements to take advantage of Oregon's Death with Dignity Act, and shared the news of her decision widely. It provided an opportunity for many people to express their appreciation and affection while she was able to receive it.

Changes in Council membership

In August 2020 elections were held to fill two positions on the Council that were set to become vacant that year. The two Commissioners that received the highest number of votes were appointed.

The Commission gratefully acknowledges the service of the two Councillors, now retired from the Commission.

```
Dr M.A. Alonso-Zarazaga (Spain; Coleoptera)
Dr G. Rosenberg (U.S.A.; Mollusca)
```

The Commission belatedly welcomes the two elected Councillors, whose terms of service began on 9 October 2020.

```
Dr F. Rheindt (Singapore; Aves)
Dr P. Bouchard (Canada; Coleoptera)
```

Changes in Commission membership

Between 22 to 30 November 2021, an online election was held for five vacancies on the Commission. A report of this election is given on pages 6 and 7 of this journal. The total number of members of the Commission is now 26.

The Commission gratefully acknowledges the service of the two retired Commissioners:

```
Prof. Dr G. Lamas (Peru; Lepidoptera)
Dr G. Rosenberg (U.S.A.; Mollusca)
```

The Commission warmly welcomes the five newly elected Commissioners:

Dr L.M.P. Ceríaco (Portugal; Reptilia, Amphibia, Mammalia)

Dr N.J. Kluge (Russia; Insecta, Ephemeroptera)

Prof. P. Lucinda (Brazil; Pisces)

Dr C.L. Scioscia (Argentina; Arachnida)

Dr D. Whitmore (Germany; Diptera)

Appointment of new ICZN Secretary

Mr Dominic Ng has taken over as the Executive Secretary of the Commission. The outgoing Secretary is Dr Evan Quah, whose appointment began in June 2021 and ended October 2021.

Result of Declaration 46 vote

At the end of the voting period on 29 January 2022, valid votes were received from 18 of the 22 Commissioners eligible to cast ballot papers under Bylaw 30(c). Motion 1: 'the amendment to the Code resulting from the proposed Declaration 46 (Appendix) "is not a major change but merely clarifies a provision of the Code" (Article 78.3)', was agreed upon by greater than two-thirds of the vote, whereas Motion 2: 'The text of the proposed Declaration 46 (Appendix) may be issued in its current form', failed to reach a two-thirds majority.

The proposed amendment (Declaration 46; see BZN 77: 5–11) is therefore deemed not to be "a major change but merely clarifies a provision of the Code" (Article 78.3 of the Code, but the text of the proposed Declaration 46 may not be issued in its current form, and a revised proposal will be voted on.