

Announcement

Terms of blse ktythes://staging.bioone.org/terms-of-use

Source: The Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature, 75(1): 4

Published By: International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature

URL: https://doi.org/10.21805/bzn.v75.a003

Announcement

International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature c/o Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum, 2 Conservatory Drive, Singapore 117377, Republic of Singapore (email: iczn@nus.edu.sg)

http://dx.doi.org/10.21805/bzn.v75.a003

Election of new members to the Commission

Between 29 September and 29 December 2017, a by-election was held for the election of three new members to the Commission. The total number of members of the Commission is now 28. The ICZN warmly welcomes the following three newly-elected Commissioners:

- S. T. Ahyong (Australia; Crustacea)
- M. Bertling (Germany; Ichnotaxa)
- C. H. C. Lyal (United Kingdom; Coleoptera)

Appointment of new ICZN Secretary

From February 2018, the Secretary of the Commission will be Dr Gwynne S. Lim. She has taken over from Mr Martyn E. Y. Low whose appointment ended in January 2018. The Secretariat remains based at the Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum at the National University of Singapore. The contact details of the Secretariat remain the same.

Gwilym O. Evans (1924–2017) – Acarologist, Commissioner, Secretary and ITZN Trustee

Gwilym O. Evans was a world-renowned authority on Acari. His involvement with the Commission includes being a Commissioner (1960–1970), its Secretary (1956–1967) and a member of the International Trust for Zoological Nomenclature (1967–1968). An obituary has been published in *Acarologia* (vol. 57, no. 4, pp. 1113–1120).

Tony Whitten (1953–2017) - Conservationist and ITZN Trustee

Tony Whitten has been a leading figure in the field on conservation for most of his life. Most recently, he was a senior adviser at Flora and Fauna International. He was a member of the International Trust for Zoological Nomenclature from 2012 until its closure in 2014.