Acknowledgements

While researching this book I read many books, dozens of scientific papers and hundreds of magazine and newspaper articles, drove and flew thousands of kilometres, attended numerous scientific conferences, visited many national parks and private reserves, and volunteered on many field surveys. Despite all of this effort, it was amazing how often a chance comment from someone provided some of the best information on where to see Australian mammals - and not just the rare ones. This book would not have been possible without the help of these people researchers, naturalists, wildlife enthusiasts, tour operators and travellers - who willingly shared information and their enthusiasm, or otherwise contributed advice. They include (in alphabetical order) Eric Andrew, Paul Barden, Darryel Binns, Linda Broome, Ray Chatto, Rohan Clarke, Tania Cochrane, Laurie Conole, Brian Cooke, John Cox, Helen Crisp, Geoffrey Dabb, Meg Doeppel, Tim Dolby, Sean Dooley, Keith and Lindsay Fisher, Greg Ford, Ian Fraser, Tony Friend, Janet Gardner, Alan Gillanders, Denise Goodfellow, Ian Gynther, Jon Hall, Anthony Ham, Dion Hobcroft, Rod Hobson, Alan Horsup, David Jackson, David James, Doug Laing, Peter Lansley, Peter Marsack, Alison Matthews, Alan McBride, Anna McConville, Peter Milburn, Doug Mills, Damian Milne, Barry Nolan, Tony Palliser, Mark Parsons, Sean Pywell, Terry Reardon, Mike Reed, Terry Reis, Charlie Roberts, Greg Roberts, Danny Rogers, Jonathan Rossouw, Klaus Uhlenhut, Steve van Dyck, Simon Ward, Kirsty Wilkes, John Woinarski and John Young. Thanks also to members and campout organisers of the Australasian Bat Society and Australian Mammal Society; and to several unnamed park staff who helped with directions. Apologies if I've left anyone out. Thanks also to those who contributed photos, including John Augusteyn, Leo Berzins, Adrian Boyle, Rohan Clarke, Tim Dolby, John French, David Rhind, 'Shorty' and Roger Williams. And to everyone at CSIRO Publishing for their patience and support for this project: John Manger, Briana Melideo, Lauren Webb, Tracey Millen, Melinda Chandler, Helena Clements, Deepa Travers, Joy Window and everyone else in the editorial and production team.